Rice University logo
 
 
 
 

Faculty Directory including Regular, Emeritus, and Fellows

Faculty Mailing Address:
Physics and Astronomy Department, MS-??? (see Mail Stop list for appropriate Mail Stop number)
Rice University
6100 Main Street, Houston, TX 77005 or P. O. Box 1892, Houston, TX 77251-1892

Physics and Astronomy Department

 Faculty Member Title E-mail  Phone Mail Stop  Room/Lab 
Alexander, David   Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Director, Rice Space Institute; Department Ombudsman
dalex@rice.edu 713-348-3633 MS-108 Herman Brown 206
Amin, Mustafa   Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy
mustafa.a.amin@rice.edu 713-348-2901 MS-108 Herman Brown 364
Baring, Matthew G.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Co-Chair for Graduate Admissions and Recruiting baring@rice.edu 713-348-2983 MS-108 Herman Brown 366
Beaird, Robert   Instructor of Physics and Astronomy
robert.p.beaird@rice.edu 713-348-2791 MS-61 Brockman Hall 239
Bradshaw, Stephen Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy stephen.bradshaw@rice.edu 713-348-4045 MS-108 Herman Brown 302
Chaguine, Petr Assistant Research Professor petr.chaguine@rice.edu 713-348-3691 MS-61 Brockman Hall 113
Chan, Anthony Arthur   Professor of Physics and Astronomy aac@rice.edu 713-348-2531 MS-108 Herman Brown 308
Cone, Michael   Instructor of Physics and Astronomy
michael.t.cone@rice.edu 713-348-2578 MS-61 Brockman Hall 228
Dai, Pengcheng   Professor of Physics and Astronomy pengcheng.dai@rice.edu 713-348-3731 MS-61 Brockman Hall 362/360
Deem, Michael W.   Joint appointment, John W. Cox Professor in Biochemical & Genetic Engineering and Professor of Physics and Astronomy
mwdeem@rice.edu 713-348-5852 MS-142  
Dodds, Stanley A.   Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Associate Chair for Administration dodds@rice.edu 713-348-2510 MS-61 Herzstein 215
Du, Rui-Rui   Professor of Physics and Astronomy rrd@rice.edu 713-348-5780 MS-61 Brockman Hall 302/B12
Dunning, F. Barry   Sam and Helen Worden Professor of Physics and Astronomy fbd@rice.edu 713-348-3544 MS-61 Brockman Hall 320/B02
Ecklund, Karl   Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Fondren Library Liaison karl.ecklund@rice.edu 713-348-2037 MS-315 Herman Brown 232C
Foster, Matthew   Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy matthew.foster@rice.edu 713-348-3922 MS-61 Brockman Hall 303
Geurts, Frank   Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy geurts@rice.edu 713-348-5314 MS-315 Herman Brown 236
Hafner, Jason H.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Undergraduate Student Assistant Chair hafner@rice.edu 713-348-3205 MS-61 Brockman Hall 262/390
Halas, Naomi   Joint appointment, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Professor of Physics and Astronomy halas@rice.edu 713-348-5611 MS-378  
Hartigan, Patrick M.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy hartigan@sparky.rice.edu 713-348-2245 MS-108 Herman Brown 350
Hazzard, Kaden   Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy kaden@rice.edu 713-348-2861 MS-61 Brockman Hall 306
Huang, Huey W.   Sam and Helen Worden Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Co-Chair for Graduate Admissions and Recruiting hwhuang@rice.edu 713-348-4899 MS-61 Brockman Hall 252/280
Hulet, Randall G.   Fayez Sarofim Professor of Physics and Astronomy randy@rice.edu 713-348-6087 MS-61 Brockman Hall 391/B01
Isella, Andrea   Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy isella@rice.edu 713-348-5491 MS-108 Herman Brown 354
Johns-Krull, Christopher M.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Chair for the On-Campus Observatory cmj@rice.edu 713-348-3531 MS-108 Herman Brown 352
Kiang, Ching-Hwa   Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy and Bioengineering chkiang@rice.edu 713-348-4130 MS-61 Brockman Hall 226/B07
Killian, Thomas C.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Graduate Student Assistant Chair (Spring 2017) killian@rice.edu 713-348-2927 MS-61 Brockman Hall 336/B16
Kono, Jun   Joint appointment, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Professor of Physics and Astronomy kono@rice.edu 713-348-2209 MS-378  
Levine, Herbert   Joint Appointment, Professor of Bioengineering and Professor of Physics and Astronomy herbert.levine@rice.edu 713-348-5869 MS-142  
Levy, Eugene H.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy ehl@rice.edu 713-348-4121 MS-108 Herman Brown 318
Li, Wei   Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy davidlw@rice.edu 713-348-3948 MS-315 Herman Brown 229A
Liang, Edison P.   Andrew Hays Buchanan Professor of Astrophysics liang@rice.edu 713-348-3524 MS-108 Herman Brown 342
MacKintosh, Frederick Abercrombie Professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Professor of Chemistry and Physics & Astronomy fcmack@rice.edu 713-348-3192 MS-662  
Morosan, Emilia Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Chair for the Colloquium Committee emorosan@rice.edu 713-348-2529 MS-61 Brockman Hall 339/270
Natelson, Douglas   Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Department Chair natelson@rice.edu 713-348-3214 MS-61 Brockman Hall 301/B11
Nevidomskyy, Andriy Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy andriy.nevidomskyy@rice.edu 713-348-6046 MS-61 Brockman Hall 305
Nordlander, Peter J. A.   Wiess Professor of Physics and Astronomy nordland@rice.edu 713-348-5171 MS-61 Brockman Hall 308
Onuchic, José N. Professor of Physics and Astronomy jonuchic@rice.edu 713-348-4197 MS-61 Brockman Hall 110
Padley, B. Paul   Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Associate Chair for the Undergraduate Program padley@rice.edu 713-348-4703 MS-315 Herman Brown 232A
Pu, Han   Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy hpu@rice.edu 713-348-3570 MS-61 Brockman Hall 309
Reiff, Patricia H.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Associate Director for Outreach Programs, Rice Space Institute reiff@rice.edu 713-348-4634 MS-108 Herman Brown 224
Roberts, Jabus B.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy roberts@rice.edu 713-348-5941 MS-315 Herman Brown 229
Sazykin, Stanislav Associate Research Professor sazykin@rice.edu 713-348-3628 MS-108 Herman Brown 326
Scuseria, Gustavo   Joint appointment, Robert A. Welch Professor of Chemistry; Chemistry Vice Chair, and Professor of Physics and Astronomy  guscus@rice.edu 713-348-4746 MS-60  
Si, Qimiao   Harry C. and Olga K. Wiess Professor of Physics and Astronomy qmsi@rice.edu 713-348-5204 MS-61 Brockman Hall 307
Smith, Ian Andrew   Associate Research Professor iansmith@rice.edu 713-348-2433 MS-108 Herman Brown 306
Stenson, Jared   Wiess Instructor of Physics and Astronomy jared.stenson@rice.edu  713-348-5727 MS-61 Brockman Hall 241
Toffoletto, Frank R.   Professor of Physics and Astronomy toffo@rice.edu 713-348-3641 MS-108 Herman Brown 362
Wolynes, Peter   Joint appointment, Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Physics and Astronomy pwolynes@rice.edu 713-348-4082 MS-60  
Yepes, Pablo P.   Associate Research Professor yepes@rice.edu 713-348-5942 MS-315 Herman Brown 228
Yu, Lam   Wiess Instructor of Physics and Astronomy lhyu@rice.edu 713-348-2894 MS-61 Brockman Hall 240
 

Emeritus Professors

 
Baker, Stephen Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus
baker@rice.edu NA
Bonner, Billy E.   Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus
bonner@rice.edu NA
Cloutier, Paul   Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus   pac@rice.edu NA
Dufour, Reginald James   Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus rjd@rice.edu 713-348-3348
Duck, Ian M.   Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus   duck@rice.edu NA
Few, Arthur A. Physics and Environmental Science Professor Emertius   few@rice.edu NA
Freeman, John W. Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus jwf@rice.edu NA
Hannon, James P. Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus hannon@rice.edu NA
Hill, Thomas W. Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus hill@rice.edu NA
Lane, Neal   The Malcolm Gillis University Professor and Physics and Astronomy Professor and Baker Institute Senior Fellow Emeritus neal@rice.edu NA
Miettinen, Hannu E.   Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus   hem@rice.edu N/A
Rau, Carl Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus   rau@rice.edu N/A
Stebbings, Ronald Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus   stebb@rice.edu N/A
Stevenson, Paul M.   Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus   stevenson@rice.edu 713-348-5248
Wolf, Richard A.   Physics and Astronomy Professor Emeritus   rawolf@rice.edu
713-348-3308